|
Post by kitty on Mar 21, 2020 18:18:12 GMT 10
Tools needed:
Hex Editor, Hex calculator, Item ID list [faulty at the moment, non-complete]
Files needed [only for the example, it works with ANY scenery file, with the correct adjustments ofc]:
[...]\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\RE3DEMO\natives\STM\escape\scene\location\downtown\item\i_100_subway_area.scn.20
We are, in this example, replacing one of the green herbs in the "Subway Station area", with another item. For fun, and mostly to verify that we can do it, in the first place.
Also be aware: I lost all my progress on RE5, and that was a lot - I can not tell you at the moment, how to change a itemholder to a weaponholder - so spawning in a weapon, instead of an item, will create an empty spot in the location the item is supposed to be.
You can although, very easily replace the Shotgun, in the Station, with an Assault Rifle.
Step by Step:
1. Open i_100_subway_area.scn.20 in Hex editor 2. Find an item that you desire - the items will be in "ASCII" text, but with "." inbetween. Like this: s.m.7.0._.0.0.1._.g.h.e.r.b._.0.1 This is due to HEX Editor formatting and is a minor issue. 3. Next to the String in this format, you will see "I.t.e.m" 4. Use your Hex editors "JUMP" function or count; from the START OF THE I in "ITEM", or i.t.e.m., we jump 80 bytes [or 80 of the "00" rows that you can see - 1 byte = one "double digit number", like 00 or FF or 02 and so on]. Again! We jump from the BEGINNING of the TEXT called "I.t.e.m". 80 bytes to the right from there.
Important note: for some items, the amount of bytes you have to step seems to vary - some are only ~70 bytes from "i.t.e.m.", and such. But the general area is always the same, 70-80 bytes. Followed by a series of "FF" bytes.
5. THERE you will find the HEX ID of the item to change. In our example: 02
6. Change with any ID. For my test, to goof around, I used "22" since someone said it was "AR Ammo" - it's not. It's magnum ammo.
7. Now jump 12 bytes to the right from HERE! - or press "right arrow" on your keyboard 12 times.
8. This is the "Quantity Integer" - the amount of items on the stack. Notice how it is 01? Change to a different number. FA for example. Enjoy 250 Shots of Magnum Ammo.
Proof for that it works:
Now some instructions of how this "code" looks in HEX EDITOR:
History: Purple: i.t.e.m. string from which you jump 80 bytes Red: 80 bytes to the right of purple [ITEM ID], and 12 more Bytes to the right [Item quantity int]
You're welcome. As a hint:
Since this is the exact way we used to mod in RE5, it is possible to extent this to Enemy spawns [in the correct files, these files are only for items!!!], and also modify existing enemies [that spawn in a map].
Spoiler alert: Mini Nemesis, or Godzilla-Sized Nemesis / Zombies. I had a RE5 mod at some point that made the "Giant Ogre zombie" into a little tiny midget ogre... was fun.
The only thing we need now, is 1.) a functional and correct ITEM ID list, and B.) a start for modding enemies.
BTW. it is also possible to edit "breakables", the only difference is, that they have a "list" of items they can drop, as there is some RNG involved, it seems.
|
|
|
Post by kitty on Mar 21, 2020 21:09:20 GMT 10
Getting Weapons to spawn: i_600_controlstation_area.scn.20 Same thing, but here we go to the part where it says "w.p.6.2.0.0._.g.r.e.n.a.d.e._.0.2" and repeat our process, and replace the "41" we find at 80 bytes to the right, with 0B: You can now spawn a spare shotgun in case Barry pops up, or something.
Edit: Those weapons spawn with ammo bug, cant reload from their intended ammo type. More experimenting needed sadly
|
|
|
Post by sayco on Mar 23, 2020 4:58:31 GMT 10
how can edit streaming folder dialoge pck file please tell me anyone
|
|
Busy with work + studies. Will be back when I have free time. Please be patient. :)
Posts: 58
|
Post by moehammered on Apr 6, 2020 17:06:11 GMT 10
I've looked into the pattern you've recognised with item formatting. Seems sometimes the IDs are changed in specific levels yet carry the same name as previous items. Either the item names are incorrect(I imagine this would be the case if they used an editor and just named things manually) or the item ID changes based on a file loaded for the specific part of the level/game. I'm writing a tool that takes the pattern you recognised and looks for potential items and spits out their IDs and names. If it works I'll update this post. EDIT: So I've found (at least with the subway area as shown in your screenshot) that the item changes only occur if the item's are modded before reaching the area they're in. So if you change the green herbs to become handgun bullets. Save. Close the game. Change the ID. Load the previous save, the items remain as they were modded before. So placed items are also stored in the save file I'm guessing? Also more on the IDs shown in the item files. It seems that some ID numbers get re-used, mostly from what I see ID 0, and ID 1. ID -1 seems to mean invalid or a way for them to not spawn an item. I've attached what my console program spat out when I went off of the pattern you recognised with the item files within "natives\stm\escape\scene\location\downtown\item" early-item-id-info. There are some false positives or rather, strange 'items' like 'Special Collision' and '_NemesisDrop' which show incorrect ID and quantity however I noticed it refers to the 'weapon.scn' file. So maybe Nemesis' drops can be altered. I wanna test that out later once I can figure out how the ID system is working.
|
|
|
Post by rexfordab on Apr 29, 2020 0:35:17 GMT 10
how do you change the items in the safes?
|
|
|
Post by kitty on May 1, 2020 9:42:45 GMT 10
how do you change the items in the safes? Safes and other weapons are hidden, nested behind a "interactive object" routine, the way it seems. The weapon is awarded to the player after opening a locked object and then interacting with it. I assume the entries in the corresponding files link to a outside script, that contains the spawned objects. Havent found that, yet.
|
|
Leap of Faith Master
Posts: 53
|
Post by aziank on May 4, 2020 16:03:14 GMT 10
Hi, has there been any further research into this issue? after reading a couple of threads on item placements and mod creation, I decided to finally make an account and share some thoughts (maybe also help out in some way). 1st: have you had the chance to try out these two mods for RE2R? one being the Weapons and Ammo Overhaul mod mod and the other being the Lightning Hawk for Claire mod. these two replaced items/weapons with another and it's fully working in-game. I believe one of the modders (Maverick) is a member on here as well. maybe if we break down these two, we can get an idea of how it's done and utilize it for this game (seeing how RE2R and RE3R are basically the same...). The WAO mod change items/weapons placement, giving the player earlier/easier access to...well items and weapons. i was even able to, for claire, get both the shotgun and grenade launcher in the same place (RPD Weapons Locker). they both work as game intended and can be reloaded with their ammo type. The LHFC mod gives Claire the Lightning Hawk (Leon's Weapon) in the STARS OFFICE (which replace her SMG). this too works fully as game intended and can be reloaded with its ammo type. seeing here how you can replace/spawn a spare shotgun in the control station while there's already a grenade launcher, but having an ammo bug, maybe something in these two mods can fix address that... 2nd: you mentioned that spawning in a weapon in place of an item can cause an issue with there being nothing in that location, does it have anything to do with the line "P.i.c.k...s.m.7.0._.0.0.1._.g.h.e.r.b._.0.1...I.t.e.m"? what if that were changed to...say w.p.2.0.0.0.... (which is assault rifle) and I.t.e.m to something like w.p.n or w.e.a.p.o.n? would it fix 1) the ammo issue and 2) spawning a weapon in place of an item? 3rd: kind of relating to the 2nd and might be easier considering they're both weapons, can the same approach be use to replace entirely the grenade launcher with...again the assault rifle? was it because the game still recognized the original weapon instead of the replacement weapon after the mod due to a certain line left unchanged? (that sounds obvious, but you know...). i'm referring to this part of your post: I'm asking all this because 1) i would like to give Jill a fully upgradable assault rifle, not the base model she gets in assist mode, and not the infinite version from the shop. 2) not only change item/weapon placements to add a new feel to the game, but also eventually, add items/weapons to areas that are now accessible due to another mod (more exploration mod). 4th: going back to the green herb in the subway station topic, is there any line somewhere in there that determine where the item sits? as in it being on something versus the floor or even just floating in the air? in the screenshot, the original location is on top of a box, there has to be a line to edit it and for example place it next to the typewriter... by figuring that out, maybe the modding team as a whole can make the gameplay more...enjoyable? 5th: in relating to 4th, items seem to change/switch place in harder difficulties. any way for us to take control of that? assist to inferno, items are not in the same location...is that due to map or lines of codes somewhere the game picks and runs depending on the mode you're in? i think with the current situation of the world, most of us are working from home or simply just stuck at home chilling, i would be happy to look into all of this with you on my free time if you're cool with that. maybe we can solve a few issues RE3R overall is still a great game, but we all agree it's a bit short. but step by step we can lengthen it by back tracking and exploration extra places the dev blocked off or left it empty.
|
|
|
Post by rexfordab on May 5, 2020 8:56:03 GMT 10
hey, I'm also doing an item mod based on the more investigation mod. Trying to rearrange some of the key items to encourage backtracking unfortunately I have put myself on a dead end trying to figure out how to change items on lockers and safes.
|
|
Busy with work + studies. Will be back when I have free time. Please be patient. :)
Posts: 58
|
Post by moehammered on May 5, 2020 13:15:05 GMT 10
Hi, has there been any further research into this issue? after reading a couple of threads on item placements and mod creation, I decided to finally make an account and share some thoughts (maybe also help out in some way). 1st: have you had the chance to try out these two mods for RE2R? one being the Weapons and Ammo Overhaul mod mod and the other being the Lightning Hawk for Claire mod. these two replaced items/weapons with another and it's fully working in-game. I believe one of the modders (Maverick) is a member on here as well. maybe if we break down these two, we can get an idea of how it's done and utilize it for this game (seeing how RE2R and RE3R are basically the same...). The WAO mod change items/weapons placement, giving the player earlier/easier access to...well items and weapons. i was even able to, for claire, get both the shotgun and grenade launcher in the same place (RPD Weapons Locker). they both work as game intended and can be reloaded with their ammo type. The LHFC mod gives Claire the Lightning Hawk (Leon's Weapon) in the STARS OFFICE (which replace her SMG). this too works fully as game intended and can be reloaded with its ammo type. seeing here how you can replace/spawn a spare shotgun in the control station while there's already a grenade launcher, but having an ammo bug, maybe something in these two mods can fix address that... 2nd: you mentioned that spawning in a weapon in place of an item can cause an issue with there being nothing in that location, does it have anything to do with the line "P.i.c.k...s.m.7.0._.0.0.1._.g.h.e.r.b._.0.1...I.t.e.m"? what if that were changed to...say w.p.2.0.0.0.... (which is assault rifle) and I.t.e.m to something like w.p.n or w.e.a.p.o.n? would it fix 1) the ammo issue and 2) spawning a weapon in place of an item? 3rd: kind of relating to the 2nd and might be easier considering they're both weapons, can the same approach be use to replace entirely the grenade launcher with...again the assault rifle? was it because the game still recognized the original weapon instead of the replacement weapon after the mod due to a certain line left unchanged? (that sounds obvious, but you know...). i'm referring to this part of your post: I'm asking all this because 1) i would like to give Jill a fully upgradable assault rifle, not the base model she gets in assist mode, and not the infinite version from the shop. 2) not only change item/weapon placements to add a new feel to the game, but also eventually, add items/weapons to areas that are now accessible due to another mod (more exploration mod). 4th: going back to the green herb in the subway station topic, is there any line somewhere in there that determine where the item sits? as in it being on something versus the floor or even just floating in the air? in the screenshot, the original location is on top of a box, there has to be a line to edit it and for example place it next to the typewriter... by figuring that out, maybe the modding team as a whole can make the gameplay more...enjoyable? 5th: in relating to 4th, items seem to change/switch place in harder difficulties. any way for us to take control of that? assist to inferno, items are not in the same location...is that due to map or lines of codes somewhere the game picks and runs depending on the mode you're in? i think with the current situation of the world, most of us are working from home or simply just stuck at home chilling, i would be happy to look into all of this with you on my free time if you're cool with that. maybe we can solve a few issues RE3R overall is still a great game, but we all agree it's a bit short. but step by step we can lengthen it by back tracking and exploration extra places the dev blocked off or left it empty. To give a brief answer to some of what you asked: 1st point: Haven't tried the mod, but thank you for pointing it out. I'll check it out when I get around to experimenting more with the item files. 2nd point: those names for the items are just that, names. They're not actually representing the loaded item, just something left behind in a level editor to help editors identify the objects in the map. I don't believe changing them will do anything/ 3rd point: I've yet to figure out and test for solving the issue, but the idea is you can replace items with other items of the same category. Key items can be replaced with key items, weapons replaced with weapons, and generic items with generic items. I've yet to figure out how to solve the weapon issue but I have not tested or attempted to beyond seeing if they can be swapped. I think it's possible though. 4th point: Yes there is and I've found it. I'll be posting a write up soon about it but I'll share a screenshot to show I'm not BS'ing. 5th point: Indeed there does seem to be lines of code in the game that triggers loading different parts of the files depending on difficulty. I know from Nemesis' AI patrol files there is the usual patrols then an extra section in the files dubbed "super". So the toystore on Nightmare/Inferno Nemesis does not stand outside, and what do you know there is a section dubbed "Toy_Super" in his AI that I believe is causing this altered behaviour. Might be similar with items too. Again, I haven't been diving into item files but when I do I will have a tool to hopefully help edits of them too. Screenshot and info here: file - i_100_subway_area.scn.20 item - 'green herb' changed to bullets hex location - 1520, 1524, 1528 (x, y, z) (I moved the 'y' position up) screenshot
item - gunpowder hex location - 1660, 1664, 1668 (x, y, x) (I moved the 'y' position up) screenshot
|
|
Busy with work + studies. Will be back when I have free time. Please be patient. :)
Posts: 58
|
Post by moehammered on May 5, 2020 13:21:21 GMT 10
hey, I'm also doing an item mod based on the more investigation mod. Trying to rearrange some of the key items to encourage backtracking unfortunately I have put myself on a dead end trying to figure out how to change items on lockers and safes. Have you tried looking and analysing the 'locker' scn file? I'm referring to: natives\stm\escape\scene\location\downtown\locker.scn.20. That file looks like it has info relating to the items found in lockers. Also interesting leftover strings about key failure... I wonder if lockpicking was an interactive puzzle before...
|
|
|
Post by rexfordab on May 6, 2020 18:21:45 GMT 10
How did you move the item? I'm editing the demo as a practice there are no lockers on the demo but there are safes but its still hard to edit items inside safes. I put 22 on hex location 1524, doesnt seem to work.
|
|
Busy with work + studies. Will be back when I have free time. Please be patient. :)
Posts: 58
|
Post by moehammered on May 7, 2020 14:42:57 GMT 10
How did you move the item? I'm editing the demo as a practice there are no lockers on the demo but there are safes but its still hard to edit items inside safes. I put 22 on hex location 1524, doesnt seem to work. I'm not sure if the demo file has the same offsets as the full release. I took those screenshots with the full release game. As for how to move them, you cannot just edit 1524 by itself. 1524~1527 is a 4 byte floating point value. You'd need to edit the 4 bytes to represent a floating point number to move the items up or down. for example if you take 1.4 and turn it into a floating point value its hex is 33 33 B3 3F. So if you set 1524 to 33, then 1525 to 33, then 1526 to B3, then 1527 to 3F you've changed the Y position of the item.
|
|
Leap of Faith Master
Posts: 53
|
Post by aziank on May 8, 2020 16:38:58 GMT 10
How did you move the item? I'm editing the demo as a practice there are no lockers on the demo but there are safes but its still hard to edit items inside safes. I put 22 on hex location 1524, doesnt seem to work. I'm not sure if the demo file has the same offsets as the full release. I took those screenshots with the full release game. As for how to move them, you cannot just edit 1524 by itself. 1524~1527 is a 4 byte floating point value. You'd need to edit the 4 bytes to represent a floating point number to move the items up or down. for example if you take 1.4 and turn it into a floating point value its hex is 33 33 B3 3F. So if you set 1524 to 33, then 1525 to 33, then 1526 to B3, then 1527 to 3F you've changed the Y position of the item. agreed, i would think the demo would have restricted access to files or limited due to it...well being not a full game. i don't have the demo or ever played it to know this to be exact, but it makes sense for it to be so. i'm playing around with items/weapons placement too, but i'm doing it on the full game with that said, currently just trying to add more ammo to the gameplay. i really haven't done anything (that i think is worth mentioning at least) since i'm still trying to figure out a lot of things and locating all the necessary folders to do said things. i played around with adding more to visible ammo, as in those you can see and pick up without opening lockers, breaking boxes, etc. maybe after i can replace certain items with more ammo, then i want to look into crafting more ammo. maybe down the long road, i can put a mod together (no promised) this is fun and at the same time, very tedious lol. wish you can see the changes you make instantly in game instead of closing/opening it each time you edit a code. i somewhat know and yet don't know what i'm doing so it's hard to keep at it. so much trial and even more errors haha also the two mods i mentioned, if you guys take a look at that and compare it to an original game file, maybe you can figure it out better than me. just remember those are for RE2R and not RE3R, but should be the same (mostly). i'm currently doing that now in Clarie A run standard and seeing if i can replicate it once the mod turns off. taking me a long time and i don't have much since i still have to work from home and i want to play inferno on RE3R without dying haha
|
|
|
Post by tronvin on May 8, 2020 23:25:46 GMT 10
I'm not sure if the demo file has the same offsets as the full release. I took those screenshots with the full release game. As for how to move them, you cannot just edit 1524 by itself. 1524~1527 is a 4 byte floating point value. You'd need to edit the 4 bytes to represent a floating point number to move the items up or down. for example if you take 1.4 and turn it into a floating point value its hex is 33 33 B3 3F. So if you set 1524 to 33, then 1525 to 33, then 1526 to B3, then 1527 to 3F you've changed the Y position of the item. agreed, i would think the demo would have restricted access to files or limited due to it...well being not a full game. i don't have the demo or ever played it to know this to be exact, but it makes sense for it to be so. i'm playing around with items/weapons placement too, but i'm doing it on the full game with that said, currently just trying to add more ammo to the gameplay. i really haven't done anything (that i think is worth mentioning at least) since i'm still trying to figure out a lot of things and locating all the necessary folders to do said things. i played around with adding more to visible ammo, as in those you can see and pick up without opening lockers, breaking boxes, etc. maybe after i can replace certain items with more ammo, then i want to look into crafting more ammo. maybe down the long road, i can put a mod together (no promised) this is fun and at the same time, very tedious lol. wish you can see the changes you make instantly in game instead of closing/opening it each time you edit a code. i somewhat know and yet don't know what i'm doing so it's hard to keep at it. so much trial and even more errors haha also the two mods i mentioned, if you guys take a look at that and compare it to an original game file, maybe you can figure it out better than me. just remember those are for RE2R and not RE3R, but should be the same (mostly). i'm currently doing that now in Clarie A run standard and seeing if i can replicate it once the mod turns off. taking me a long time and i don't have much since i still have to work from home and i want to play inferno on RE3R without dying haha I tried toying with moving the cutting tool by the ladder in downtown. I figured with Nemesis spawning early (which I have not done at all yet but its just a goal), getting the shotgun early would be appropriate. Plus, it creates that circular level design RE games have. I really want to spawn Nemesis in Nightmare/Inferno mode in the donut shop by replacing that one zombie that blocks the door in the hopes of having Nemesis bust through the door as a reveal.
|
|
|
Post by rexfordab on May 10, 2020 23:06:52 GMT 10
do you know where i can find a reliable floating point converter? found one online but it was janky.
|
|