Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 22, 2015 2:31:33 GMT 10
Tried unpacking some re5gold arcs (CoreResource.arc, Core2Resource.arc) with -tex -texRE5, arctool says "unrecognized DDS format 21". Those files had to be modified or re5 button mod wouldn't exist. Is there a working arctool version that I can use just for this?
|
|
Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 24, 2015 0:29:53 GMT 10
Hey Fluffy, I've managed to successfully convert RE5 DDS format 21 using an old dmc4tool. This file contains the tool, tex file and converted dds file. I guess you can add support for this type by looking at the dds file?
|
|
✫Advanced Coder✫
First, I was known as Sectus. And then, well, I ended up here.
Posts: 2,811
Original Join Date: Aug 31 2009
|
Post by FluffyQuack on Sept 24, 2015 5:53:12 GMT 10
I'll have a release later today or tomorrow fixing this.
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 24, 2015 8:48:12 GMT 10
Sadly, it's still doesn't unpack/repack textures for PS3 version of Dragon's Dogma without sex with hex editors. For example: www.sendspace.com/file/4oto40 - original ark file. www.sendspace.com/file/oeorcx - original tex file from it. Now, if we use ARCtool on tex file without modifying it, we'll get *.tga file full of gibberish: i.imgur.com/xgFAFrz.pngWe don't need tis, so we flip bytes (use hex editor that can do it) in 32 bit operand, and get: www.sendspace.com/file/f71mmi - hex edited tex file. And now ARCtool performs flawlessly and we get clean *.dds file: i.imgur.com/O3MzplC.pngWe modding it and saving as *.dds in DXT1 (1 bit Alpha) - some textures using it, others using DXT5 (mostly normal maps, menus, etc). Then we place *.dds in repack folder along with *.tex and *.txt, write *.tex name in repack.ark.txt and repack it. www.sendspace.com/file/r52abd - modded and repacked tex file. But we still need to flip bytes back into place, otherwise it won't work! www.sendspace.com/file/rn2au0 - modded, repacked and hex edited tex file. And only then we put it back and repack ark. www.sendspace.com/file/34dtiz - modded, repacked and working ark file. It would be much easier if we could do it without hex editing. Like, seriously.
|
|
✫Advanced Coder✫
First, I was known as Sectus. And then, well, I ended up here.
Posts: 2,811
Original Join Date: Aug 31 2009
|
Post by FluffyQuack on Sept 25, 2015 22:39:04 GMT 10
vectorunit0 and rep, try this WIP version and let me know if it works: www.tzarsectus.com/WIP/ARCtool.exeFor the PS3 textures, you should add "-tex" to ps3-dd.bat, which makes it automatically convert all TEX files back and forth whenever you unpack/repack ARC files. If you prefer to convert textures one by one, you need to create a new batch file with this content and drag the tex/dds files onto it rather than the executable: arctool.exe -texRE6 -tex -ps3 %1 Or if you're using command prompt, just make sure you add "-tex" whenever you want to convert textures (also add "-texRE6 -ps3" if you're converting them one by one). I don't have a modded PS3 so I can't test PS3 support myself, but hopefully this version improves the support.
|
|
Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 26, 2015 1:44:23 GMT 10
vectorunit0 and rep, try this WIP version and let me know if it works: www.tzarsectus.com/WIP/ARCtool.exeFor the PS3 textures, you should add "-tex" to ps3-dd.bat, which makes it automatically convert all TEX files back and forth whenever you unpack/repack ARC files. If you prefer to convert textures one by one, you need to create a new batch file with this content and drag the tex/dds files onto it rather than the executable: arctool.exe -texRE6 -tex -ps3 %1 Or if you're using command prompt, just make sure you add "-tex" whenever you want to convert textures (also add "-texRE6 -ps3" if you're converting them one by one). I don't have a modded PS3 so I can't test PS3 support myself, but hopefully this version improves the support. I'm still getting the "unrecognized DDS format 21" message. Using your re5 pc batch file with -tex... I guess I'll be swapping headers manually few more times. I hope you'll add ps3 support for this type also.
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 26, 2015 3:42:37 GMT 10
Yep, works beautifully with individual files and batches alike. I yet to test it on ps3 (maybe tomorrow) but hex looks all right to me. Thank you. Hopefully it will create at least a little hype for upcoming PC version amongst modders. Also, while I at it, I guess I point out some long standing problem with some interface textures: www.sendspace.com/file/6dnxpe - original tex file. www.sendspace.com/file/ey3az3 - original dds from it. i.imgur.com/5atznrH.pngTo fix this manually, you need to copy alpha channel to rgb channel, and green channel to alpha than change whatever you wanted to change and save it. Only then everything will look like it should be in the game. i.imgur.com/3ezxu3V.pngwww.sendspace.com/file/jewwlk - fixed dds. www.sendspace.com/file/6f1n1j - fixed tex. Maybe it will help to fix it permanently.
|
|
✫Advanced Coder✫
First, I was known as Sectus. And then, well, I ended up here.
Posts: 2,811
Original Join Date: Aug 31 2009
|
Post by FluffyQuack on Sept 26, 2015 4:36:23 GMT 10
I'm still getting the "unrecognized DDS format 21" message. Using your re5 pc batch file with -tex... I guess I'll be swapping headers manually few more times. I hope you'll add ps3 support for this type also. I forgot to also update the RE5 texture format conversion. I'll work on that and upload a new version later. Yep, works beautifully with individual files and batches alike. I yet to test it on ps3 (maybe tomorrow) but hex looks all right to me. Thank you. Hopefully it will create at least a little hype for upcoming PC version amongst modders. Also, while I at it, I guess I point out some long standing problem with some interface textures: www.sendspace.com/file/6dnxpe - original tex file. www.sendspace.com/file/ey3az3 - original dds from it. i.imgur.com/5atznrH.pngTo fix this manually, you need to copy alpha channel to rgb channel, and green channel to alpha than change whatever you wanted to change and save it. Only then everything will look like it should be in the game. i.imgur.com/3ezxu3V.pngwww.sendspace.com/file/jewwlk - fixed dds. www.sendspace.com/file/6f1n1j - fixed tex. Maybe it will help to fix it permanently. Yeah, I know of that problem. They're textures using YCCA colour space, and I'm not sure how to properly add support for it. One solution would be to have the program automatically swap channels around, but that means I have to add in support for dxt block compression which wouldn't be trivial. Are there any graphics programs which would let you change working colour space and then modify the texture like normal? That might be an ideal solution.
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 26, 2015 5:42:28 GMT 10
Are there any graphics programs which would let you change working colour space and then modify the texture like normal? That might be an ideal solution. Dunno. At this point it's way easier just to make photoshop action once and use it every time problem arrives than to even try finding some other program.
|
|
Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 26, 2015 5:49:04 GMT 10
I'm still getting the "unrecognized DDS format 21" message. Using your re5 pc batch file with -tex... I guess I'll be swapping headers manually few more times. I hope you'll add ps3 support for this type also. I forgot to also update the RE5 texture format conversion. I'll work on that and upload a new version later. Yep, works beautifully with individual files and batches alike. I yet to test it on ps3 (maybe tomorrow) but hex looks all right to me. Thank you. Hopefully it will create at least a little hype for upcoming PC version amongst modders. Also, while I at it, I guess I point out some long standing problem with some interface textures: www.sendspace.com/file/6dnxpe - original tex file. www.sendspace.com/file/ey3az3 - original dds from it. i.imgur.com/5atznrH.pngTo fix this manually, you need to copy alpha channel to rgb channel, and green channel to alpha than change whatever you wanted to change and save it. Only then everything will look like it should be in the game. i.imgur.com/3ezxu3V.pngwww.sendspace.com/file/jewwlk - fixed dds. www.sendspace.com/file/6f1n1j - fixed tex. Maybe it will help to fix it permanently. Yeah, I know of that problem. They're textures using YCCA colour space, and I'm not sure how to properly add support for it. One solution would be to have the program automatically swap channels around, but that means I have to add in support for dxt block compression which wouldn't be trivial. Are there any graphics programs which would let you change working colour space and then modify the texture like normal? That might be an ideal solution. Great, thanks! About those YCCA textures, this guy made a mod, but it took forever! Scroll down, there's a post where he explained the process. I don't think relying on editing software is gonna help... This isn't my first time asking you to look at this problem, but you are probably only one who could fix this. I'm sure bunch of people would love rev1 button mod also.
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 27, 2015 1:40:52 GMT 10
I didn't paid attention if icons were color or not (I thought they weren't), but after seeing color buttons in that theme I tried to swap channels around in photoshop for my own amusement. And turns out it was pretty easy: 1 - copy alpha channel to rgb channel (layer 1). 2 - copy green channel to alpha. 3 - copy layer 1 to green. 4 - set layer 1 to overlap and remove green channel from it. i.imgur.com/dE7ayT1.pngIt doesn't seems to work for textures from that theme, but work all right for Dogma textures. Action for photoshop: www.sendspace.com/file/hqyo6b
|
|
Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 27, 2015 4:14:04 GMT 10
I didn't paid attention if icons were color or not (I thought they weren't), but after seeing color buttons in that theme I tried to swap channels around in photoshop for my own amusement. And turns out it was pretty easy: 1 - copy alpha channel to rgb channel (layer 1). 2 - copy green channel to alpha. 3 - copy layer 1 to green. 4 - set layer 1 to overlap and remove green channel from it. i.imgur.com/dE7ayT1.pngIt doesn't seems to work for textures from that theme, but work all right for Dogma textures. Action for photoshop: www.sendspace.com/file/hqyo6bWOW! It's working! i.imgur.com/q4Ej8rn.jpg Yes, it should look this way (all orange)! Your action file didn't work because of interface language differences, but steps you wrote are working perfectly. I didn't have to remove green channel in step 4. Can I merge the layers now so I can edit them? How can I revert this to original, broken state? Can you write the steps?
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 27, 2015 5:01:34 GMT 10
Your action file didn't work because of interface language differences, but steps you wrote are working perfectly. I didn't have to remove green channel in step 4. Try to remove here: i.imgur.com/GQKfF60.pngYou can merge, or you can just create another layer above, whatever. As far as I can tell, you don't need to do that else you get messed up colors. Try to edit, save and repack it in this state and then run the game. Though if you need it, you can copy background first before doing anything. Save file as psd and you can always return to it.
|
|
Posts: 73
|
Post by vectorunit0 on Sept 27, 2015 5:27:17 GMT 10
Your action file didn't work because of interface language differences, but steps you wrote are working perfectly. I didn't have to remove green channel in step 4. Try to remove here: i.imgur.com/GQKfF60.pngYou can merge, or you can just create another layer above, whatever. As far as I can tell, you don't need to do that else you get messed up colors. Try to edit, save and repack it in this state and then run the game. Though if you need it, you can copy background first before doing anything. Save file as psd and you can always return to it. Thanks, I'll try that... What format should I use when saving dds from photoshop?
|
|
Posts: 22
|
Post by rep on Sept 27, 2015 5:51:53 GMT 10
Photoshop format (psd) to save your work for possible future edits so you don't have to search, extract, fix colors and edit image every time from scratch. Then re-save textures in dds to use in game.
|
|